Creative Image Slider: There is nothing to show!

Press Welfare Services

Manipur State Journalists’ Pension Scheme :

The Manipur Working Journalists Pension Scheme was introduced in the year 1996 while the Manipur Journalists Pension Rules 1996 was adopted and published in the Official Gazette on the 21st March, 1996. The present rate of Pension and Family Pension under the Scheme are Rs.2000/- p.m. and Rs.1000/- p.m. respectively. There is a Committee called the Manipur Working Journalist Pension Committee headed by the Commissioner/Secretary (IPR) to administer and review the Pension Scheme. There are at present 108 Journalists who are enrolled as members of the State Journalist Pension Scheme.

5 Pensioners and 5 Family Pensioners are being provided monthly pension.

List of Pensioners/ Family Pensioners :-

Pensioners :-

1. L. Baldev Sharma

2. A.K. Sanaton

3. K. Madhumangol Singh

4. S. Bharatbhushan

5. Manihar Goswami

Family Pensioners :-

1. Darrokim Amo

2. R.K. (O) Bisholata Devi

3. W. Ibeton Devi

4. Konthoujam Pramodini

5. H(O) Gomti Devi

Manipur State Journalist Awards:

The Manipur State Journalist Awards Scheme was introduced in the year 1994. Prior to the official introduction of the Journalist Awards Scheme, 4 Veteran Journalists were selected for State Veteran Journalist Award in 1993 and were each awarded a cash prize of Rs.1000/- and a citation. The selected journalists were:

1. Shri Loitam Yaima Singh

2. Shri Laishram Jogeshwor Singh

3. Shri R.K. Shitaljit Singh

4. Shri Arambam Lalmani Singh

The first recipient for the Manipur State Journalist Award, 1994 was the then Editor of Manipur Mail, N. Tombi Singh. The award initially carried a cash prize of Rs 5,000/- and a certificate.

The Awards are now given for reporting in 6 fields/categories and the cash award has been enhanced to Rs 25,000/- per award in the year 2008.

The latest recipients of the Award (for the year 2009) are:

1. Brozendro Ningomba (Hueiyen Lanpao) – Best Editor’s Award on National Integration and Communal Harmony.

2. L. Shamungou Singh (Sangai Express) – Best Rural Reporting

3. R.K. Bullu (Poknapham) – Best Reporting on Public Health and Hygiene

4. Dhamendra Wangkhemcha (Kangleipakki Meira) & N. Philip (ISTV)– Best Reporting on Women and Children

5. R.K. Sanatomba (Hueiyen Lanpao) – Best Sports reporting

6. Enaomacha Salam (Hueiyen Lanpao) – Best Reporting on Art and Culture

Press Tour:


The Department sponsors or organises external tours for journalists of the State every year to places of interest and choices of the journalists.

Issue of Press Identity Cards:

Press Identity Cards are issued free to media persons working in the State to facilitate them in carrying out their tasks. Applications for issue of Press ID Cards are screened by a Committee, after which they are sent to the Police for verification of the antecedents of the applicants. The Press ID Cards are issued only after the Police verification.

Two types of Press ID Cards are issued, Accredited Press ID Cards to Accredited Journalists and general Press ID Cards to other journalists. As of now 47 Accredited Press Identity Cards and 365 General ID Cards (including 31 ID Cards issued to Electronic media person) are issued.