Creative Image Slider: There is nothing to show!


Imphal, 25th May, 2017 (DIPR) : Shri Kshetrimayum Bhabananda Singh was elected as RajyaSabha MP  by securing 39 votesin today’s Bye- Election by the Elected Members of the Legislative Assembly and the MPs  to fill in the vacancy of Md. Haji Abdul Salam  held at Manipur Legislative Assembly. The Bye–Election is contested by two candidates  : Shri Kshetrimayum Bhabananda Singh of Bharatiya Janata Party ( BJP ) and Shri Elangbam Dwijamani Singh of Indian National Congress (INC ) while Shri Elangbam Dwijamani Singh of Indian National Congress (INC) has the support of 21 (twenty one ) MLAs.

Shri Bhabananda Singh was born to (L) Ksh. Dhananjoy Singh and (L) Ksh. Ibeyaima Devi on 1st March, 1960. He is married to Ksh.(o) N. Marina Devi. He studied in Sainik School, Goalpara, Assam from 1969- 1976, he graduated with English Honours from Hansraj College, Delhi in 1980 and he is also a graduate in LLB from Manipur University and is also a registered Advocate of the Bar Council of India, NE region from 1999.

 Shri Ksh. Bhabananda Singh had joined BJP in 1995 and held a responsible post right from the Booth Level to State Level and has been actively participating in the party related activities, he stood first in the Pravesh Prashikhan Varg in the year 2010, he was nominated as the SRO (State Returning Officer) BJP, Manipur Pradesh in the year 2009 for conducting State President Election of BJP. He held the post of Booth Level Secretary, General Secretary and President and was ultimately nominated as President, BJP, Sagolband Mandal in 2008. He was the Treasurer of BJP, Manipur Pradesh under the Presidentship of Dr. Borobabu Singh from 2009-2012. He held the post of General Secretary from 2012 – 2013 and was the Vice- President of the party from 2013 and in 2016, he was elected as the President of the BJP a post which he held till date. (DIPR)