Creative Image Slider: There is nothing to show!


IMPHAL, August 1 (DIPR): The State Legislative Assembly today unanimously passed four demands amounting to Rs. 1934,61,33,000.

The demands passed today, after a marathon discussion that stretched till midnight, pertained to Education (Rs.1464,68,01,000), Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution (Rs. 57,93,65,000), Panchayat (Rs. 77,33,42,000) and Irrigation and Flood Control (Rs.334,66,25,000).

Clarifying the motion, Education Minister Shri Th. Radheshyam said there has been shortage of 4407 teachers from primary level to higher secondary school level. There are a total of 16,780 sanctioned posts of teachers out of which 12,373 are presently positioned.

On mass transfer and posting of teachers, Radheshyam said that the transfer was neither carried out with the intent to victimize anyone nor motivated politically. He pointed out that 447 graduate teachers were promoted to lecturers by the previous Government without any proper assessment. Since the graduate teachers are promoted to lecturers, it is obvious that the posts of the promoted teachers lay vacant. Promotion of teachers without proper assessment has necessitated the transfer and postings of teachers.

The Minister also offered to resign from his post if the allegation that he wrote DO letters to seek admission for some students to some schools is proved. The department is doing its best to review the criteria of recruitment of teachers to cope with the pressing need, Radhesyam added.

 Regarding introduction of private school Bill, the Minister said the Bill is not aimed at abolishing private schools but to regulate and control private schools. He also said that required College teachers and Principals will be appointed through Manipur Public Service Commission.

Clarifying a policy cut, Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution (CAF&PD) Minister Karam Shyam said complaints galore regarding National Food Security Act (NFSA). On April 25, 2016 the Targeted Public Distribution System (TPDS) was introduced in the State with a target to avail benefits to 87 percent of the population (24,84,540). However, the Department could, as of now, avail the benefits to 74.6 percent including AAY, priority households, with monthly quota of 11,786.56 metric tons of rice.

He said that since the formation of the new Government, the rice quota of the State has been increased to 22,54,681 metric tons. Strong instruction was also issued to concerned officials to expedite all the necessary procedures including issuance of beneficiary cards in order to achieve the 87 percent target. Karam Shyam further pointed out that the monthly quota of Kerosene is 1456 KL since March last against the previous quota of 1168 KL and added that accordingly the monthly quota for AAY and priority households beneficiaries have decreased. Maintaining that there was a backlog of 5542 KL of SK oil, he said the State had requested Govt of India to give permission to lift the backlog quota.

However, only 1000 KL could be lifted due to disturbances on the highway. He said the responsibility of loading and unloading of food grains is the responsibility of the labour contractor and that Rs. 25 crore has been sanctioned by the Government to clear the pending dues of the fair price shop agents.

Clarifying motions moved by Opposition MLAs, Irrigation and Flood Control Department (IFCD) Minister Shri Letpao Haokip said the Department is making efforts to strengthen river embankments.

He said that there is no flood control policy. But the present Government has sent a DPR to strengthen river embankment. In order to ease flood woes against the backdrop of frequent spate of rivers, the Government is planning to take over the right of maintenance of water level at Ithai Barrage after signing an agreement with NHPC.

Diversion of Chakpi River would be done once the Department gets funding from the Centre, he added.

RD and PR Minister Shri Th. Biswajit said that the process of Panchayat election has been delayed due to flood. The lottery system for reservation of seats for women in the ZP and Pradhan election has been held for every term.

Opposition MLAs including Km. AK Mirabai, Shri K. Ranjit, Shri N. Loken, Shri Kh. Joykishan, Shri RK. Imo, Shri Alfred Kanngam Arthur, Shri Surjakumar Okram, Shri Th. Lokeshwar, Dr. Chaltonlien Amo, Md. Abdul Nasir, Shri K. Meghachandra and Shri Okram Henry moved the motion. (DIPR)